Andie MacDowell’s Storybook Tudor For Sale in NC

Original Post: http://hookedonhouses.net/2011/10/26/andie-macdowells-storybook-tudor-for-sale-in-nc/

by hookedonhouses on October 26, 2011

Andie MacDowell, the actress and L’Oreal spokesperson who inspired untold numbers of women to perm their hair in the late ’80s (thanks for that, Andie), is selling the house she built in Asheville, North Carolina, for $4.5 million.

The listing describes it as a “Magnificent four-story, storybook Tudor with Art Nouveau and Arts & Crafts influences in historic and prestigious Biltmore Forest.” Let’s take a look!

 

The house has 10,872 square feet, as well as an additional 1977 square feet of terraces, porches and balconies.

After I saw the photos of this house, I was surprised it was built less than 10 years ago (in 2002). It looks like it’s been around a lot longer than that.

There’s a big flat-screen TV hidden behind those wood panels underneath the stairs, which is pretty clever:

The house has 6 beautiful fireplaces, including this one:

Andie plays Ariel’s mom Vi in the Footloose remake. I went to a strict private school where dancing wasn’t allowed (we had Homecoming dinners, not dances), so when my friends and I saw the original movie we were really cheering Kevin Bacon on!

Dennis Quaid plays her husband in the new version, the Reverend Moore. He happens to be selling his house, too–an equestrian estate in California that actually kind of reminds me of the one he had in The Parent Trap.

At first I thought this was another kitchen, but it’s a Butler’s Pantry:

You can see a photo of Andie with her grown daughters Sarah Margaret and Rainey here. At 53, she looks like she could be their older sister!

According to the listing, Andie’s house was featured in Carolina Home+Garden magazine in 2008. Spent a long time trying to hunt those photos down, to no avail.

There are 6 bedrooms in the house. Does this one remind anyone else of the Bed & Breakfast in Groundhog Day? Love that movie!

The house has 7 1/2 bathrooms:

Andie’s real name is Rosalie Anderson MacDowell. I’ve read that in her personal life she’s called Rose. (Speaking of which, my daughter Lily just informed me that I should have named her Rose. Apparently I went with the wrong flower name!)

A day hardly goes by that I don’t get a request for a Movie Monday post about her apartment from Green Card. I actually have the photos and started writing it, but it’s been sitting in my Drafts folder for months. I need to finish that up!

Do you like Andie MacDowell’s storybook Tudor? For more photos and information, visit the listing by Jo Chandler of Preferred Properties of Asheville.

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , ,

About Coldwell Banker Action Realty
Coldwell Banker Action Realty is a full-service real estate firm focusing on Hernando, Pasco, Hillsborough and Pinellas Counties in the Tampa Bay area. We stress professionalism, integrity, and excellence in customer service. We would be pleased to assist you with purchasing or selling a property, renting a home, or marketing and managing your investment property.

One Response to Andie MacDowell’s Storybook Tudor For Sale in NC

  1. This is one of the most beautiful homes I’ve ever seen. If I ever write a blog post about dream homes, I’m going to have to come out to tour this!

    Thanks very much for signing up to follow my blog in November. I appreciate your readership
    and support and hope that you’re enjoying the articles and recipes.

    Best wishes for the new year,
    Marci

Leave a Reply

