For Sale: A Small Stone House in New Hope, PA

Original Post: http://hookedonhouses.net/2011/04/10/for-sale-a-small-stone-house-in-new-hope-pa/

by hookedonhouses on April 10, 2011

I have a thing for old stone houses, so when I saw this one for sale in New Hope, Pennsylvania, my heart skipped a beat. It was built in 1718, which makes it one of the oldest houses in the area. I’d love to see the right person buy it and do this historic home justice.

It’s listed at $595,000.

The living room has beamed ceilings, a stone fireplace, and a spiral staircase.

The homeowners seem to really like this color and have it throughout the house, starting with the front door:

There’s a (kind of regrettable) frame addition stuck onto the back that needs an overhaul–especially the dated kitchen (unlike the original part of the house, it’s dated in the wrong way):

But I love the original house and details like this door leading to the hidden staircase:

And the bedroom, which has its own stone fireplace:

The house is only about 1,600 square feet, but it sits on over 2 acres and includes a separate building that can be used as a studio or office. It also has a creek with a little bridge that leads to a gazebo.

If you bought this nearly 300-year old house, what would you do with it?

For more information and photos, check the listing. Seen a beautiful or interesting house for sale that I should feature on Sunday Open House? Send it to me!

Tagged as: , , ,

About Coldwell Banker Action Realty
Coldwell Banker Action Realty is a full-service real estate firm focusing on Hernando, Pasco, Hillsborough and Pinellas Counties in the Tampa Bay area. We stress professionalism, integrity, and excellence in customer service. We would be pleased to assist you with purchasing or selling a property, renting a home, or marketing and managing your investment property.

One Response to For Sale: A Small Stone House in New Hope, PA

  1. Emily Samoylo says:

    I would raise my family there and add our happy memories to all the other ones that already grace the beautiful home!! Our previous home was also built in the 1700s, and it is very important to me that our next one be around the same age. I adore the stone, and craftmenship, I enjoy the idea of having such a colorful past and the strength to withstand time. I would not change or add anything to take away from the natural beauty. I would instead bring love and warmth like i’m sure so many have done before me. This is our PERFECT PLACE!!

Leave a Reply

