Elias Cottage: A New House Built With Old Charm

Original Post: http://hookedonhouses.net/2011/03/24/elias-cottage-a-new-house-built-with-old-charm/

by hookedonhouses on March 24, 2011

I love it when I see people building new houses that have the charm and thoughtful details of older homes, so I was excited to see photos of Chapman Architecture’s work in Georgia. This is one of my favorite houses in Chapman’s portfolio, called Elias Cottage, and I think it blends the best of the old with the new.

 

I like Clay Chapman’s approach to design. He says, “The product of our efforts must withstand trend and fashion and be held with deep affection from generation to generation.”

~

I’d love to have a row of windows over my kitchen sink like these:

Some rooms are lighter, like this bedroom, which has painted woodwork instead of stained:

I have never been a big fan of red brick inside houses, personally (it’s too dark for me), but if you look through his portfolio, you can see that he does some really interesting things with it.  This fireplace, for example, looks big enough that you could sit inside the hearth:

It would be fun to see how it looks after the owners have moved in.

 

You can read more about Chapman Architecture and see the rest of the photos of Elias Cottage on their website.  I originally heard about them thanks to a post on Willow Decor about the Pierce/Lee House, an amazing brick house that you should take a look at!

P.S. You might like this one, too: It Only Looks Old! The Southern Living Showcase Home.

// Blog Widget by LinkWithin<!– –>Tagged as: , , , , , , , ,

About Coldwell Banker Action Realty
Coldwell Banker Action Realty is a full-service real estate firm focusing on Hernando, Pasco, Hillsborough and Pinellas Counties in the Tampa Bay area. We stress professionalism, integrity, and excellence in customer service. We would be pleased to assist you with purchasing or selling a property, renting a home, or marketing and managing your investment property.

Leave a comment